Round 1 – June 10th

Race Day – Saturday

Fortitudo Property Poole Bay 100

Organised by Moto2017 Ltd, sanctioned by UKOPRA

Poole, Dorset

Poole will play host to the first round of the 2018 British Offshore Racing Series.
The ‘Poole Bay 100’ will be organised by John Moore’s Moto2017 Ltd.
Moore served as the Cowes Torquay Cowes Event Director for 4 years, including running the 50th Anniversary Event in 2010.
In September of 2017, Moto2017 Ltd held their inaugural Powerboat Race, catering for ‘Class 3’ craft; the race was run over a traditional Offshore course in Poole Bay.
For 2018, the event has secured a title sponsor, Fortitudo Property and a venue partner, Salterns Marina.

Round 2 – June 30th

Race Day – Saturday

Falmouth Marathon Regatta

Organised by the IPRC, sanctioned by UKOPRA

Falmouth, Cornwall

The Falmouth Marathon was launched in 2017 after two years of planning.
The event is fully supported by the local council.
The IPRC aim to build on their success of last year by hosting around 20 Marathon Entries for the 2018 event.
Permanent static displays, Interactive exhibits, boats & engine training projects and educational materials will be part of the event.
The course will run around the Eddystone Lighthouse and passes close to the Cornish Coastline.
Audiences between 5000 and 8000 people are expected to visit Falmouth and Truro specifically for the racing.

Rounds 3 & 4 – August 26th

Race Day – Sunday

Cowes to Torquay & Torquay to Cowes

Organised by the BPRC, sanctioned by UKOPRA

Cowes, IOW

The British Powerboat Racing Club was formed in 2001 following the gala dinner held at the Royal Yacht Squadron in Cowes celebrating the 40th running of the Cowes-Torquay-Cowes offshore powerboat race.
The Cowes-Torquay launched offshore powerboat racing as a sport in Britain in 1961. Initially sponsored by the Daily Express newspaper, its success encouraged several countries in Europe and the Middle East to follow suit.
Hence it can rightly claim to have introduced offshore powerboat racing to the rest of the world outside the United States where the modern sport was launched with the first Miami-Nassau Race in 1956.
The club is proud to organise the longest running Offshore Powerboat Race in the World, and 2018 will be the 58th time boats have set off from Cowes to do battle.
The BPRC has had the honour of awarding the Harmsworth Trophy in recent years, in 2010 to Fabio Buzzi from Italy and Markus Hendricks from Germany in 2011.
For 2018, The Classic Cowes Torquay Cowes race will count for two rounds of the 2018 British Offshore Racing Series.
Competitors will stop at Torquay to be greeted by over 2000 spectators. Once they have made repairs, the boats will re-started for the race back to Cowes.